Low Voltage License Georgia

cars on a highway in atlanta

Low voltage installation and repair work in Georgia is regulated by the Georgia Secretary of State’s Office of Secretary of State’s Office of Investigations and Enforcement (OIE). Low voltage systems, such as access control systems, fire alarms, video surveillance systems, security systems, and structured cabling, fall under the jurisdiction of the OIE. To work on these systems in the state of Georgia, a Low Voltage Contractors license is required.

The requirements for obtaining a Low Voltage Contractors license in Georgia include:

  • Being at least 18 years of age
  • Completing a pre-license course approved by the OIE
  • Pass a written exam
  • Have a minimum of four years of experience in the low voltage field
  • Provide a $25,000 surety bond
  • Provide proof of general liability insurance.

The low voltage exam in Georgia covers the National Electrical Code (NEC) and the Georgia state regulations that apply to low voltage systems. The pre-license course is to be provided by a school approved by the state, and it covers subjects such as the NEC, Georgia state law and regulations, and other subjects relevant to the low voltage industry.

To get started on the licensing process, you can visit the OIE’s website and find the “Low Voltage Contractors” section. There you can find application forms, information about the exam, pre-license courses and other information.

It is important to note that holding a low voltage license does not authorize the holder to perform electrical work, which is regulated by the state electrical board. Additionally, it’s important to follow the state laws and regulations for Low Voltage systems, as well as the NEC, which are subject to updates and changes.

In summary, a Low Voltage Contractors license is required in the state of Georgia to perform installation, repair, and maintenance of low voltage systems, such as access control, fire alarms, video surveillance, security systems, and structured cabling. To obtain the license, individuals must pass an exam, complete a pre-license course, meet the age requirements, have a minimum of four years of experience in the field, provide proof of liability insurance and surety bond.

Links for more information:

It’s advisable to check the OIE website regularly for updates and new laws and regulations.